Just Getting Started, Folks

10 Dec

It’s about time I stood up and spoke out.  Oh, I’ve opined, here and there, on other blogs, but before actually starting my own, I wanted to feel certain there were enough original ideas in my head.  In some cases, it’s not even a matter of having an original idea, but rather of being able to present scientific and medical knowledge in a way others might understand.

For example, I commented on Dr. Jerry Coyne‘s blog to clear the air and dispel common myths about circumcision.  I’ll probably revisit the topic here, just to pull the points together into a cohesive, intelligible presentation, one of these days.  There is so much more I could have written.

For the record, I have two American medical degrees.  Minority students weren’t exactly welcome in medical schools, back when, and I had at least three strikes against me, so I got one medical degree in order to break the glass ceiling for the other.  When my heart is set on something, I don’t easily give up, and it was set on this since I was about five.  The back door bias and political targeting continue, with extreme fundamentalist Christianity (i.e., Dominionism) dealing the most severe blow, and yet, I survive.  It has taken my career and health, though, leaving me disabled, homeless, and destittue.  No kidding.

A hat tip to Mr. Christopher Hitchens, regarding his most recent article on Nietsche’s famous quote:  “That which does not kill me makes me stronger.”  For years, now, everytime someone has tried to console me with it, adding instead aggrevation to my frustration, I’ve responded that if I could just get my hands around Nietsche’s throat, I’d show him just how strong it’s made me.

Questions are welcome.  Good ones, anyway.  I may not be as good at dishing out advice as Dan Savage, nor as eloquent as Christopher Hitchens, but I will do my best.

6 Responses to “Just Getting Started, Folks”

  1. David Gerard December 11, 2011 at 5:16 am #

    “Nietzsche” 😉

    Also, if there’s an option to set up email notification of posts (not just comments), you should switch that on too.

    • docatheist December 11, 2011 at 6:47 am #

      Haven’t found it yet, but I am looking. Thanks for the advice!

  2. Douglas E December 11, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Welcome to the blogoshere, Doc. Looks like you are off to a good start.

    • docatheist December 13, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

      Thank you, Douglas. I just looked at your site and recognized the Tebow Jerry just posted!

  3. David Gerard December 13, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    Aha, the new posts by email option is on!

    • DocAtheist December 13, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

      Aha! I wondered! Thanks for letting me know. I’ll get more blogs up soon. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

